What time is it in Italy?

Global time zones (the red lines divide them), Italy time zone, Italy, Italy (Photo from CIA World Factbook)
Global time zones (the red lines divide them)

Time zones in Italy and dealing with the 24-hour clock

  • Italy is 6 hours ahead of Eastern Standard Time 
  • Italy is 7 hours ahead of Central Standard Time
  • Italy is 8 hours ahead of Mountain Standard Time
  • Italy is 9 hours ahead of Pacific Standard Time

That means when it's 1pm in New York and 10am in San Francisco, it's 7pm in Rome (Or, rather, it's 19:00 in Rome. » More on 24-hour time

What about the rest of Europe?

Most of the rest of Continental Western Europe is in the same time zone as Italy.

The U.K. (England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland), Ireland, Portugal, and Iceland, are all on GMT, which is one hour before Continental time, so when it is noon in Rome it is still 11am in London, Dublin, and Lisbon.

Greece, the easterly parts of Eastern Europe, and Finland are are all one hours ahead of Italy.

The Daylight Savings Time wrinkle

Since, confoundingly, every country has its own date when daylight savings time kicks in, there are often brief periods when these differences can shift by an hour either direction. 

TK TK